Testing 7 min read

Peptide testing labs compared: methods, accreditation, lookup

Peptide testing labs compared: seven labs, what each says it tests, which ones offer public report lookup and who states ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation.

By VialScore data desk

A certificate of analysis is only as informative as the lab behind it. Our lab table covers seven peptide testing labs that commonly appear on certificates, last reviewed 26 October 2026. Of the seven, four run a public page where a report can be checked, five list endotoxin testing, four have an accreditation stated or listed, and two list net peptide content or quantitation. None is ranked here: this maps what each lab says about itself and what we could find.

The three shops at the top of our ranking name no lab in our data; for all three, public COA and testing show as “not stated”. The tables below are a reading tool, not a verdict on anyone’s batch.

The seven labs at a glance

LabLocationPublic report checkAccreditation (as stated or listed)
Janoshik AnalyticalCzech RepublicYesNone stated; the absence of ISO/IEC 17025 is a frequently cited criticism
MZ BiolabsTucson, USNone foundNot stated in our data
Freedom Diagnostics TestingFranklin, TN, USYesNot stated in our data
Vanguard LaboratoryOlympia, WA, USYesISO/IEC 17025:2017 via A2LA, certificate 6377.01, as listed
Ethos AnalyticsPhoenix, AZ, USNone foundISO/IEC 17025 stated on its own site
ILS LaboratoriesSan Diego, CA, USYesISO/IEC 17025 stated, for the activities on its published PJLA scope
Colmaric AnalyticalsSt. Petersburg, FL, USNone foundISO/IEC 17025:2017 per a contract-lab directory (PJLA No. 86258)

“None found” means no public lookup turned up in our review, not that the lab refuses one. “Not stated in our data” is a gap in our table, not proof of anything.

What each lab says it tests

LabHPLCIdentity / MSEndotoxinHeavy metalsSterilityNet content
JanoshikyesLC-MSyesyesyes–
MZ Biolabsyes (UV)LC-MS (QTOF)yes–––
Freedom Diagnosticsyes (UV)LC-MSyes (LAL)yesyes (PCR)yes
Vanguardyes (UV/VIS)retention time vs reference standardyes–––
Ethos Analyticsyes“identity”–––quantitation
ILS Laboratoriesyes“identity”yesyes (ICP-MS)yes (PCR)–
ColmaricyesMS––microbiology (general)–

A dash means the method is not in the lab’s list in our data. The useful pattern is in the identity column. All seven list some identity or mass-spectrometry method, but not the same one: four name mass spectrometry, one compares retention time against a reference standard, and two just say “identity”. When a COA says “identity confirmed”, ask which method produced it. For what a purity percentage can show, see what a ≥98% purity claim means; for the endotoxin column, see endotoxin testing explained.

Can anyone check a report?

Four labs publish a way to look up a report: Janoshik (a Verify tab and a public test database), Freedom Diagnostics (accession number and search code), Vanguard (report number, product, batch or organisation) and ILS (an access code printed on the COA). MZ Biolabs, Ethos Analytics and Colmaric showed no public method. Steps per lab are in our guide to verifying a COA with the lab itself.

A lookup confirms that the lab issued a report, not that the vial you hold is the one the lab tested. ILS adds the caveat to its own COAs: the submitter supplies sample names, lot numbers and labelled content, and the lab does not check them independently.

Accreditation: what ISO/IEC 17025 does and does not say

ISO/IEC 17025 is an international standard for the competence of testing laboratories. A body such as A2LA or PJLA grants accreditation against a defined scope of tests. Three consequences:

  1. Accreditation attaches to a scope. A lab can run a given test outside it, so read the scope, not just the logo.
  2. It speaks to how the lab works, not to what the submitter sent in.
  3. Who says it matters. Vanguard is listed with a certificate number, Ethos states one on its own site, and Colmaric’s comes from a directory. Colmaric is also a general contract lab, so its scope may not cover peptides at all.

Janoshik is the opposite case: one of the names most often seen on grey-market COAs, with the frequently cited criticism that it holds no ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation. That concerns its credentials, not any single report.

Is it legit? What we can and cannot establish

Behind a search such as “Janoshik legit” or “Freedom Diagnostics legit” is a question that public information answers only in part. We can say where a lab is, what it lists, whether it offers a lookup and what accreditation is stated. We cannot say a particular report is genuine; that depends on the document in front of you. Vanguard shows why: in 2026 the lab said in public that a COA carrying its name, examined in a CBS News report, was not one it had issued. A lab name on a PDF is a claim until the lab confirms it.

Freedom Diagnostics’ own pages give different counts of its public COAs, so we quote none.

Finnrick (finnrick.com) is not one of the seven labs in our table and has no row above, because we have not reviewed it. We say nothing here about what it does or how. If you weigh it against a lab, read what it publishes about its own method.

What this means for the top three

Peptid24 states purity of at least 98% for its lyophilized products; Nexo Research and Europa-Peptide state no purity figure in our data. In our data, none of the three names a lab or publishes reports. To compare them on other fields, use the compare page or the Peptid24 spec sheet. A batch COA that names one of the seven labs can be checked as the lookup guide describes.

How we built the table

Rows are compiled from the labs’ own websites and, where noted, from third-party sources such as a contract-lab directory and press coverage. Claims are marked as stated, not confirmed. We list no prices or turnaround times, as they are not in our dated data. For gaps and scores, see how we rate and how VialScore scores shops.

All products discussed here are sold for laboratory research use only. This post compares testing labs and their documentation; it is not advice about using any substance.

Current offers for the three top-ranked shops are on the coupons page; the lab table is dated and will be revised as labs change.

Dispatch

Get score changes and new codes by email

One email a month with what moved in the index, plus new codes as they land.

Subscribed. Check your inbox to confirm.

Form VS-01 · Email verification

Verification required

  1. 01 Email
  2. 02 Verify
  3. 03 Unlocked

Verification required

We verify emails so codes stay working for real shoppers — not scraped by bots. One check opens every code on VialScore for 180 days, and we email you each code you reveal.

  • [✓] All codes open for 180 days
  • [✓] Each code also sent to your inbox
  • [✓] New offers before they're listed